Offices & Resources

Cum Laude Society Installs Eight St. Markers
Cum Laude Society Installs Eight St. Markers

On Tuesday evening, May 8, eight current St. Markers were installed as new members of the Cum Laude Society.

The most recent Cum Laude inductees were VI Formers Minjae (Izzy) Kim, Jamie Margaret Lance, Thomas John MacNeil, Lauren Michelle Menjivar, Riya Sunita Shankar, Isabelle S. J. Titcomb, Yichi Isabella Zhang, and Tianyu Zhao. Elected as V Formers last year were current VI Formers Sophie Grace Haugen, Jovin Ho, Yangfan Helynna Lin, Mo Liu, Sada Rose Nichols-Worley, and Ziyi Gillian Yue.

Membership in the Cum Laude Society is granted to students who have consistently shown academic promise by vote of the faculty who are members of the St. Mark's Cum Laude Society. The St. Mark's Cum Laude Society is made up of faculty members who were Cum Laude at their high school, Phi Beta Kappa at their college, or elected by the Cum Laude Committee.

At the Tuesday night event, held in the Putnam Family Art Center's Class of 1945 Hall, new Cum Laude Society member Mo Liu performed Chopin's Fantasie Impromptu (Op. 66). St. Mark's Senior Teacher Rick Umiker, President of the St. Mark's Chapter of the Cum Laude Society, made welcoming remarks. Veteran faculty member Lee Wells, teacher of German and Secretary of the St. Mark's Chapter, was the featured speaker.

Current members of the St. Mark's Cum Laude Chapter are Lauren Ames (Science & Athletics), Jacob Backon (Math & Science), Yue Cao (Math), Margaret Caron (English), Jeanna Cook (Classics), Caleb Corliss (Science), Marion Donovan (Librarian), Colleen Finnerty (French and History), Peter Glomset (English), Christopher Kent (English and Theater Arts), Lindsey Lohwater (Science), Sarah McCann (English), Katharine Millett (History), Barbara Putnam (Art), Richard Umiker (Math), Channing Warner (Admission), John Warren (Head of School), and Lee Wells (German).