Offices & Resources

Athletic Awards: Spring Season and Year's Achievements
Athletic Awards: Spring Season and Year's Achievements

Over Prize Day weekend, athletic honors were announced for the spring season and for the 2017-18 school year overall.


FEARING ATHLETIC PRIZES – The School's highest athletic honor, awarded to the VI Form boy and girl who best combine athletic ability with good spirit, good team play, and good sportsmanshipColin Boylan '18, Caroline Peterson '18

PETER M. COY PRIZES – To that VI Form male and female athlete who has shown, in more than one varsity sport, surpassing intensity and determination, whose exceptional conditioning and physical courage, whose desire to excel regardless of injury or adversity and whose tenacious devotion to the success of his or her teams exemplify the spirit and joy of competitionLillian Stout '18, Steven Burke '18

WILLIAM T. WHITE PRIZES – To that young man and woman in the VI Form, excluding the captain, who is judged by the coaches and captains of all varsity sports, to have made a particular contribution to the success of the season because of their enthusiasm, determination and unselfishness in any varsity sportBen Robb '18, Sophie Haugen '18

PARKER PRIZES for athletic equipmentCaroline Dawson '19, Boyd Hall '19

DALE FABYAN MEMORIAL FUND PRIZES—For athletic equipment, to one or more deserving III and IV Formers, who in the opinion of the coaches has demonstrated , through hard play, co-operation and good sportsmanship, those qualities of a happy student life as exemplified by Dale Fabyan '61Pheobe MacLeod '20, Tucker Hartmann '20

HENRY NICHOLS ERVIN PRIZES – given to a member of the lower teams whose play has been characterized by both cooperation and consideration for othersAlie Hyland '20, Colin Capenito '19

MANAGERS OF THE YEAR—Darren Pike '18, Jovin Ho '18

SCHOLAR-ATHLETE AWARDS—Lindsey Dumond '18, Cooper Schmitz '18

ISL AWARD—Lizzie Provost '18, Ben Hunnewell '18

SPRING SEASONclick here for Spring Sports photos

For the third time in four years, coach Channing Warner's Girls' Varsity Lacrosse team won the Independent School League championship, going 11-1 in ISL competition and 15-3 overall. St. Mark's own Lillian Stout '18 was named the Most Valuable Player in the ISL, after earning her second team MVP and third consecutive All-League honor. Stout's 171 goals and 250 points on her St. Mark's career are both good for second place all-time in the Lions' record book. The future of the program also looks secure, as the Girls' JV Lacrosse team went undefeated at 9-0-1 to take home the Wiedergott Award.

Other SM varsity teams also had strong seasons this spring, particularly Girls' Varsity Crew, Girls' Varsity tennis, and Varsity Baseball. It was the first winning season for varsity baseball in ten years. Both JV Tennis teams—girls and boys—also posted victorious campaigns.



15-3-0 (.833) overall; 11-1 in ISL – ISL CHAMPIONS

MVPLillian Stout '18

MIPNicola Hartman '19

Girls' Lacrosse Prize("to that player whose efforts, contributions and leadership both on and off the field are deemed most valuable to the girls' lacrosse team")—Lizzie Provost '18

ISL All-League—Lillian Stout '18, Bailey Horne '19, Sophie Student '20, Phoebe Macleod '20

ISL HM—Caroline Peterson '18, Lizzie Provost '18, Caroline Dawson '19, Alicia Souliotis '21

ISL MVP—Lillian Stout '18

Girls' JV 9-0-1 (.950)

ETA Award – Paige LaMalva '20


13-3-4 (.750)

MIPPaula Hornbostel '20

Pollack Prize ("given to that Sixth Former who best demonstrates the leadership, intensity, and commitment to the sport of rowing that was shown by the Pollack brothers")— Logan King '18

Andy Harris Rowing Prize ("awarded in recognition of the outstanding contributions of Andy Harris as the founder of the first spring-season girls' varsity sport at St. Mark's and Head Coach of the girls' rowing program from 1978 to 2012. The prize is given to a rising Fourth, Fifth or Sixth Form girl who best demonstrates promise, intensity and commitment to rowing, and is intended as a contribution toward expenses incurred in the pursuit of summer rowing.")— Nina Tanaka '20

Girls' JV 0-4 (.000)

ETA Award – Stephanie Moon '19


10-5 (.667)

MVP— Reevie Fenstermacher '19

MIP—Emma Simon '21

ISL HM— Reevie Fenstermacher '19

Girls' JV 9-1 (.900)

ETA Award – Waverly Shi '21


10-7 (.588)

Palmer Baseball Prize (MVP)—C.J. McKennett '18

Most ImprovedColin Boylan '18

Henry Large Prize ("honoring Mr. Large's four decades of service to the St. Mark's baseball program and is awarded to the varsity baseball player who best embodies Mr. Large's selfless dedication to the team, superb sportsmanship, and unrelenting willingness to work hard and enthusiastically every day in order to improve both himself and his teammates")—Henry Butterfield '18

ISL All-League—C.J. McKennett '18, Colin Boylan '18, Justin Langway '18

JV 7-4 (.636)

Kinnicut Baseball Prize (JV, for "leadership, cheerfulness, playing ability and sportsmanship")—Jake Oblak '21

3rds 2-2 (.500)

ETA Award – Aditya Mynampaty '20


7-8 (.467)

MVPTony Banson '18

MIPMatt Hart '19


7-8 (.467)

MVPNick Hallal '18

MIPChris Yang '21

ISL HM—Nick Hallal '18

Boys' JV 8-5 (.615)

ETA Award – Nate King '20


7-9 (.438)

MVPCooper Giblin '18

MIPNoah Robb '20

Stohn Lacrosse Prize ("to a member of the boys' varsity lacrosse team, excluding the captain, who exemplifies virtues of extraordinary effort and self-discipline and who has made an outstanding contribution to the team")—Von Mabbs '20

ISL All-League—Cooper Giblin '18, Cooper Schmitz '18, Boyd Hall '19

ISL HM—Hunter Mulvey '20, Tucker Hartmann '20, Von Mabbs '20

Boys' JV 2-8-0 (.200)

ETA Award – Domenic Mongillo '20


6-7-1 (.464)

MIP—Will Bundy '20

Stockton Oar Prize ("to that member of the boys' or girls' crew who, as judged by the rowing coaches, most embodies the enthusiasm and spirit with Kevin Stockton rowed while at St. Mark's")—Ben Hunnewell '18

Boys' JV 0-1 (.000)

ETA Award – Eduaniel Reinoso '21


4-8 (.333)

MVPRebecca Lovett '18

MIPBrooke Farrell '21

Team of 2004 Prize ("This award, which honors the St. Mark's ISL Champion Team of 2004, is presented to that member of the varsity softball team who, in the opinion of the coaches, embodies the spirit of the 2004 team through her commitment to the team, enthusiasm for competition and joyful play")—Ashley Borys '18

ISL All-League—Lindsey Dumond '18

JV 3-4-1 (.438)

ETA Award – Laura Sabino '20


For best regular season winning percentage, any team—

Girls' JV Lacrosse .950

Runners-up: Girls' JV Tennis .900, Girls' Varsity Lacrosse .833, Girls' Varsity Crew .750, JV Baseball .636, Boys' JV Tennis .615, Varsity Baseball .588